Student Success Librarians:
Who can I ask?
You can ask questions of either librarian, regardless of your campus. Responses may be affected by time zone.
What can I ask?
You can ask for assistance with:
If you have a question that's not listed above, ask us anyway! We'll do our best to help.
Associate of Arts refers to a two-year university-level study equivalent program. Courses cover a wide variety of topics and disciplines. This guide presents databases and other resources containing useful information for students in the Associate of Arts program.
Below, the first box lists databases which would be useful for many topics in the Associate of Arts programs. Below that are listed resources which would be of use for specific courses or topics: anthropology, arts& humanities, business, creative arts, ecology & environment, Indigenous studies, psychology, and sociology. In the last two boxes are sources for images and eBooks.
These databases may be used to search for any Associate of Arts topic.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Recommended databases for Anthropology
The following databases may be searched for anthropology topics:
General Business Databases
Regional Business Databases
Recommended databases for Indigenous Studies
These databases are recommended for searches on any topics related to Indigenous studies.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Free database
The APA Citation Style website provides guidance for citing images:
When to look for eBooks?
eBooks are useful when you want background information on a topic. Perhaps the topic is new to you, and you want to learn the basics. eBooks can also be a good source of instructions if you want to learn how to do something.
In the search bar, type a keyword or phrase to describe the book you are looking for.
Above the search results, but below the search bar, click the button that says Source Type.
Click the link 15+ more, then click on eBooks.
Click the Apply button.
If you see an eBook of interest, click the Access Options button, then follow the links through to the book.
If you are not able to access an eBook, please contact the library for assistance.
If you do not find any eBooks on your topic, you may need to think more broadly. What might someone write an entire book about?
For complex topics with more than one concept, use the Advanced Search link, which is usually just above or below the search bar.
Enter each concept into a separate search bar. For example:
If you are having difficulty finding a book on your topic, please contact a librarian. You could also try searching for articles (see the box above). Some topics are more likely to be found in journal articles than books.
Other YU Supports
