LibGuides: Resources for Interior Design: Home

Student Support

Get Help with any of the following:

Library Skills Videos

Library Skills Videos

Who Do I Ask For Help?

Paul Graham, University Librarian

Email Paul Graham (AST)

Subject Liaison: Creative Arts, Education, Psychology

Kathy Coorsh, Academic Librarian

Email Kathy Coorsh (EST)

Subject Liaison: Business, Interior Design/Decorating & General Studies

Nell Beaudry, Academic Librarian

Email Nell Beaudry (PST)

Subject Liaison: Business, Library Instruction, Information Literacy, Psychology

Melissa Discola, Library Technician

Email Melissa Discola (EST)

Subject Liaison: Textbook Management & Administration

Sarah Van Sickle, Academic Librarian

Email Sarah Van Sickle (EST)

Subject Liaison: Resource Management, Business, Interior Design/Decorating, Creative Arts

What is Interior Design?

Interior design is the art and science of enhancing the interior spaces of buildings to create a more functional, aesthetically pleasing, and comfortable environment. It involves the arrangement of furniture, color schemes, lighting, and other elements to improve the overall quality of a space.

Creative Arts Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.

Bloomsbury eBooks This link opens in a new window
Practice makes perfect with Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts – the ultimate guide to a visual arts education. This comprehensive resource offers instant, searchable access to over 170 books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Search and view the full text of eBooks. This collection contains the majority of eBooks for Yorkville University. This includes all topics, Education, Business, Counselling, Interior Design, Creative Arts and more.

Complete List of Interior Design Databases
For a complete list of Interior Design databases, select this link.

Rate this Guide

Was this Guide Helpful?

Yes: 2 votes (100%)

No: 0 votes (0%)

Unsure: 0 votes (0%)

Total Votes: 2

Additional Resources

Software Options

Citation Software Options

Zotero: Zotero is freely accessible citation and research management software.
Endnote: EndNote is a reference manager that helps you save time formatting citations, so you can focus on your research.
Mendeley: Mendeley brings your research to life, so you can make an impact on tomorrow
Papers: Papers helps you collect and curate the research material that you're passionate about.

Resources for Interior Design: Home