Did you know that EBSCO has an app? Although it will not provide access to our subscriptions through SAGE or ProQuest, any of the material YU has subscribed to on your behalf is available through the EBSCO Academic app!
This app is available either for Android devices through Google Play or for iOS devices through the App Store.
Subject Terms are keywords that describe what the article is about. You can think of these like hashtags: they provide accurate, targeted access to an article. Using Subject Terms is one of the easiest ways to retrieve accurate search results.
While the library has subscriptions through four main database providers (SAGE, ProQuest, EBSCO, Bloomsbury), Discovery is not a database, but rather an EBSCO service that allows you to search across all of our subscriptions at once! This allows you to save time as you don't have to duplicate searches in multiple databases, and allows you to save all of your findings in one place if you prefer using the database Folders rather than your computer or a citation management software.
When searching in Discovery, you may encounter articles which say "Find Full Text" beneath the article rather than PDF Full Text.
Don't panic! This does not mean that we don't have access to the article. In order to access the article, you should click the Full Text Finder link. This will bring you to a page with a selection of links which you can follow in order to access the full text article!
The first link you should always try is the ProQuest Central link if it is available. Sometimes you may need to try specific ProQuest database links, like the Health & Medical Collection or Psychology Collection (though these do not say ProQuest, these are ProQuest databases). Generally, we recommend avoiding the link to the publisher's site, as it will generally prompt you to pay for the article!
Sometimes, the ProQuest links won't resolve; while this is annoying, it's not the end of the line! If that happens, open the ProQuest database through the library's main page, and copy-paste the article title directly into the ProQuest search bar.
Keep permalinks in mind! When sharing links to articles with peers or professors, make sure to use the article's permalink, not the URL in the address bar at the top of the page. This is an unstable URL configured based on your unique search pattern and is non-replicable for others.
The permalink provided by the database is stable and can be used for consistent access repeatedly as long as you are logged in to MyYU.
Generate the permalink in Discovery by clicking on the "Share" button and then "Create Link."
If you are using ProQuest, the procedure is slightly different. There, you will find the permalink already visible at the top of the pop-up box when you select All Options.