LibGuides: Advice for... New DCP Students: Step 2: Explore Psychology Resources

APA Support Centre

Searching YU Databases

There are two fundamental ways to find counselling psychology research and resources at Yorkville University (includes ebooks, videos, journal articles, newspapers, etc.)

You can search the entire collection by using the search engine located on the library's home page.
You can review our Library Databases A-Z site. For your convenience, we have listed some of the resources below. Let us know if you have any challenges accessing the YU library.

American Psychological Association (APA) Databases

APA PsycArticles
APA PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group.
It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

APA PsycBooks
APA PsycBooks® from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes chapters in PDF from books published by the APA and other distinguished publishers, and includes digitized content of historical significance from the Archives of the History of American Psychology (AHAP) collection.
It also contains classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s, and the exclusive electronic release of authored entries from APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.

APA PsycExtra
APA PsycExtra®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a bibliographic and full-text companion to the scholarly APA PsycInfo database. The document types included in APA PsycExtra consist of technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more. It contains records that are not indexed in any other APA database.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

Psychology Database
This database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.

Counselling Videos & eBooks

APA PsycTherapy (Videos)
Alexander Street Press

APA PsycTherapy
APA PsycTherapy® is a continually expanding resource offering streaming psychotherapy videos that provide a gateway for students, educators, and practitioners to witness first-hand, proven approaches and common obstacles faced during therapy sessions. As a dynamic teaching and learning tool, APA PsycTherapy provides a rich assortment of filmed interactions between known therapists and individuals, couples, and families.
Featuring renowned therapists and professors, the videos in this database cover cognitive therapy approaches to more than 250 topics, including life satisfaction, self-perception and cognitive distortions. The content of APA PsycTherapy is wholly unique to this APA database.

Alexander Street Press Videos, eBooks & Transcripts

Alexander Street's Behavioral and Mental Health Online provides a comprehensive, rich, and diverse collection of video and text for anyone studying or teaching in the area of mental health. Programs in counseling, social work, nursing, psychology and behavioral health will all benefit from the wide variety of content in this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works. Content included in the package has been the recipient of the Best Niche Product award from Library Journal and was deemed “highly recommended” by Choice Magazine.