Business : Reference

Annual Reports 

• AnnualReports.com: the leading provider of online annual reports to individual and institutional investors.

• EDGAR: US Securities & Exchange Commission. Filings & Forms.

• SEDAR: "System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval .  Find securities filings for companies trading on Canadian stock exchanges. Use this site to find annual reports, annual information forms, proxy circulars, management discussion and analyses etc. Filing begins in 1997.

Country Information

• CIA World Factbook: provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

• Coface: Regularly updated, they provide an estimate of the average credit risk on a country’s businesses. This is an invaluable tool, giving an indication of a country’s potential influence on businesses’ financial commitments

• Country Insights: “Go beyond the do’s and don’ts”. Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada.

• Country and ‘doing business’ guides: Information from “Deloitte”.

• Doing Business: Economies are ranked on their ease of doing business, from 1–190.  The rankings for all economies are benchmarked to May 2019.

• Federation of International Trade Associations: More than 8,000 annotated and indexed links to international trade, import and export sites.

• ILOSTAT: Labour statistics for more than 200 countries. International Labor Office, Department of Statistics.

• World Bank: Data, statistics and reports for more than 100 countries.

Blogs

• 24/7 Wall St.: Analysis and commentary for the US and global equity investor.

• The Business Ethics Blog: features news & commentary about corporate ethics.

• DealBook: Financial news from the New York Times.

• Harvard Business Blogs: Providing access to various business perspectives.

• Real Time Economics: Real Time Economics offers exclusive news, analysis and commentary on the U.S. and global economy, central bank policy and economics. 

Directories, Dictionaries

• BusinessDictionary.com: quick reference dictionary on all things business related.

• Greenbook: A guide for buyers of marketing research.

• InvestorWords.com: is the premier online financial glossary and contains over 15,000 definitions, helping millions of individuals understand important concepts required to succeed in today’s financial world.

• ThomasNet: Connecting you to businesses.

• WAND: a business to business directory platform.

Videos & Podcasts

• Ecorner: Standford’s entrepreneur video training.

Companies, Stocks, Investing & Pensions

• Barron’s: A variety of company information and investing (limited access).

• Canadian Corporate Reports: McGill University archived reports.

• Company Directories: Industry Canada information on companies.

• Company Insights. BusinessWeek. Includes information for 42,000 public and 322,000 private companies worldwide. (Enter company name in search box in upper right-hand corner).

• EDGAR . SEC Filings & Forms

• FT.com Marketsdata. “provides the latest stock market research information, ...” for 35,000 companies worldwide.

Newspapers & Magazines

**Please note, you can find full-text in the library's Discovery Service**

• Bloomberg Business week (Available in EBSCO Academic): Interesting sources of business information.
• Economist: Weekly publication on world business.
• Financial Times (US edition online): One of the world’s leading international business organizations, recognized for integrity and accuracy.
• Globe and Mail (Report on Business): Canadian national newspaper, business section.
• Google News Archive. Search digitized, historic newspaper pages, including the New York Times, some dating back more than 200 years.
• National Post: Financial section of National Post newspaper.
• NonProfit Times: A variety of information from non-profit perspective.
• US News & World Report: providing news and information, including personal finance and business news.

Companies, Stocks, Investing & Pensions - cont'd

• globeinvestor.com (Globe & Mail) The latest investing news and analysis.

• Google Finance Canada. Canada’s newspaper for investment advisors: Market summaries.

• NASDAQ: Nasdaq.com is the official website of The Nasdaq Stock Market, the largest US electronic stock market. With approximately 3,200 companies, it lists more companies and, on average, trades more shares per day than any other U.S. market.

• Pensions & Investments: Investing, portfolio, and market information.

• SEDAR: Canadian Company Filings.

Rankings

• Doing Business. Economies are ranked on their ease of doing business, from 1 – 181. The rankings are from the Doing Business 2010 report, covering the period June 2008 through May 2009.

• Forbes Lists. Including 400 Best Big Companies, World’s 2,000 Largest Companies, World’s Top 50 Microfinance Institutions.

• Fortunate 500 List: Link to the current list of Fortune 500.

• Fortunate 100s Fastest Growing Companies: Top performers.

• Profit 100 Canada’s Fastest-Growing Companies

• Tech Week 100