LibGuides: Resources for Counselling Psychology: Home

Student Support

Get Help with any of the following:

Library Skills Videos

Library Skills Videos

Who Do I Ask For Help?

Paul Graham, University Librarian

Email Paul Graham (AST)

Subject Liaison: Creative Arts, Education, Psychology

Kathy Coorsh, Academic Librarian

Email Kathy Coorsh (EST)

Subject Liaison: Business, Interior Design/Decorating & General Studies

Nell Beaudry, Academic Librarian

Email Nell Beaudry (PST)

Subject Liaison: Business, Library Instruction, Information Literacy, Psychology

Melissa Discola, Library Technician

Email Melissa Discola (EST)

Subject Liaison: Textbook Management & Administration

Sarah Van Sickle, Academic Librarian

Email Sarah Van Sickle (EST)

Subject Liaison: Resource Management, Business, Interior Design/Decorating, Creative Arts

What is Counselling Psychology?

Counseling psychology is a branch of psychology that focuses on helping individuals cope with and overcome emotional, psychological, and interpersonal challenges. Counselors in this field work with clients to explore their feelings, thoughts, and behaviors, providing support, guidance, and strategies to improve mental well-being, resolve personal issues, and enhance their overall quality of life. The primary goal of counseling psychology is to facilitate personal growth, emotional well-being, and improved mental health through therapeutic interventions and client-centered approaches.

American Psychological Association (APA) Databases

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group.
It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

APA PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
APA PsycBooks® from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes chapters in PDF from books published by the APA and other distinguished publishers, and includes digitized content of historical significance from the Archives of the History of American Psychology (AHAP) collection.
It also contains classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s, and the exclusive electronic release of authored entries from APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.

APA PsycExtra This link opens in a new window
APA PsycExtra®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a bibliographic and full-text companion to the scholarly APA PsycInfo database. The document types included in APA PsycExtra consist of technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more. It contains records that are not indexed in any other APA database.

APA PsycTherapy This link opens in a new window
APA PsycTherapy® is a continually expanding resource offering streaming psychotherapy videos that provide a gateway for students, educators, and practitioners to witness first-hand, proven approaches and common obstacles faced during therapy sessions. As a dynamic teaching and learning tool, APA PsycTherapy provides a rich assortment of filmed interactions between known therapists and individuals, couples, and families.
Featuring renowned therapists and professors, the videos in this database cover cognitive therapy approaches to more than 250 topics, including life satisfaction, self-perception and cognitive distortions. The content of APA PsycTherapy is wholly unique to this APA database.

Additional Counselling Resources

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume I This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume I Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is a searchable collection containing real transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.
The database contains more than 2,000 session transcripts, 44,000 pages of client narratives, and 25,000 pages of secondary reference material.

Rate this Guide

Was this Guide Helpful?

Yes: 4 votes (100%)

No: 0 votes (0%)

Unsure: 0 votes (0%)

Total Votes: 4

Additional Resources

Software Options

Citation Software Options

Zotero: Zotero is freely accessible citation and research management software.
Endnote: EndNote is a reference manager that helps you save time formatting citations, so you can focus on your research.
Mendeley: Mendeley brings your research to life, so you can make an impact on tomorrow
Papers: Papers helps you collect and curate the research material that you're passionate about.

Resources for Counselling Psychology: Home