Twice a week, Nell holds office hours for support with database-searching, primarily learning how to search YU's databases effectively. For access to Nell's office hours, please follow the link above.
Office hours are held Tuesdays and Wednesdays.
Should you log in, please feel free to wait in the waiting room until admitted - try to use the name to log in that is attached to your YU account. If Nell is currently with another student, she will send you an email to follow up and book an appointment.
2-3PM PST / 5-6PM EST / 6-7PM AST
After watching the videos and reading through the support documents, do you still feel lost and overwhelmed? No problem! For a one-on-one Zoom session with Instruction and Academic Support Librarian Nell Beaudry, please contact her through email. Include your program of study, time zone, and specific information on the challenge(s) you are encountering while researching.
While the library has subscriptions through four main database providers (SAGE, ProQuest, EBSCO, Bloomsbury), Discovery is not a database, but rather an EBSCO service that allows you to search across all of our subscriptions at once! This allows you to save time as you don't have to duplicate searches in multiple databases, and allows you to save all of your findings in one place if you prefer using the database Folders rather than your computer or a citation management software.
The EBSCO Academic subscription includes access to a number of databases.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
APA PsycArticles
APA PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
APA PsycExtra
APA PsycExtra®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a bibliographic and full-text companion to the scholarly APA PsycInfo database. The document types included in APA PsycExtra consist of technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more. It contains records that are not indexed in any other APA database.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
Regional Business News
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
APA PsycBooks
APA PsycBooks® from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes chapters in PDF from books published by the APA and other distinguished publishers, and includes digitized content of historical significance from the Archives of the History of American Psychology (AHAP) collection. It also contains classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s, and the exclusive electronic release of authored entries from APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
eBook Collection
Search and view the full text of eBooks.
Art & Architecture Source
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
APA PsycTherapy
APA PsycTherapy® is a continually expanding resource offering streaming psychotherapy videos that provide a gateway for students, educators, and practitioners to witness first-hand, proven approaches and common obstacles faced during therapy sessions. As a dynamic teaching and learning tool, APA PsycTherapy provides a rich assortment of filmed interactions between known therapists and individuals, couples, and families. Featuring renowned therapists and professors, the videos in this database cover cognitive therapy approaches to more than 250 topics, including life satisfaction, self-perception and cognitive distortions. The content of APA PsycTherapy is wholly unique to this APA database.
Through SAGE, Yorkville University is subscribed to their Education, Research Methods, and Psychology packages. These can be explored more fully through the Discipline Hubs. If conducting a search directly through SAGE, limit your search to YU subscriptions through the advanced search feature "Only content to which I have full access" as indicated below:
The ProQuest subscription includes access to the following databases.
Coronavirus Research Database
A free health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak.
eBook Central
Multidisciplinary e-books.
ERIC
Education and related topics - journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, book and monographs.
ProQuest Central
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities. This package includes 47 subject specific databases.
Alexander Street's Behavioral and Mental Health Online provides a comprehensive, rich, and diverse collection of video and text for anyone studying or teaching in the area of mental health. Programs in counseling, social work, nursing, psychology and behavioral health will all benefit from the wide variety of content in this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume I Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is a searchable collection containing real transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. The database contains more than 2,000 session transcripts, 44,000 pages of client narratives, and 25,000 pages of secondary reference material.
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Perhaps the greatest source of anxiety for students in the mental health field is the prospect of working with clients in face-to-face counseling encounters. Counseling and Therapy in Video: Library provides an invaluable firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. This series contains more than 2,400 hours of footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals.
Practice makes perfect with Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts – the ultimate guide to a visual arts education. This comprehensive resource offers instant, searchable access to over 170 books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines.
It is an essential resource for students and educators globally, working across multiple fields of practice, including:
Content Highlights
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts is expressly designed to support and inspire visual learners with:
