Advice for... New MACP Students

Need more Help? Online Instruction & Academic Support

• Library Services provides online support via Zoom for one-to-one and group instruction.

• Topics can vary across many different areas, such as navigating eBooks, search strategies, identifying types of research, help with assignments, etc.   

• You can book an online session with our Academic Support & Information Literacy Librarian, Nell Beaudry. Nell Beaudry nbeaudry@yorkvilleu.ca

• PLEASE NOTE.  Before connecting with the Academic Support Librarian, please review our "NEW STUDENT LIBGUIDE" to ensure you have learned the basics.

What's in the Library? Help with Library Collections

• The Library provides access to many scholarly, peer reviewed databases, such as ProQuest Central (which contains over 40 databases) as well as EBSCO and SAGE.  These resources are accessible in many ways, please ensure you have reviewed our Database searching support tutorials

• For all questions concerning "if a resource is in our collection", or "can be obtained for the library", please contact our Resource Management Librarian, Sarah Van Sickle svansickle@yorkvilleu.ca

• PLEASE NOTE. You can also send all Accessibility questions about our resources directly to our Resource Management Librarian. 

Asking Questions about Textbooks

• For all textbook questions, you should first contact the bookstore, they manage all aspects of purchase, format, delivery, etc. Note, the Library does 'not' manage the bookstore; they are separate departments.

• Most of the eBooks sold by the bookstore are accessed via VitalSource's Bookshelf app. If you have technical questions, please contact VitalSource directly. support@vitalsource.com

• Additional questions for clarification can be sent directly to our Textbook Facilitator, Melissa Discola mdiscola@yorkvilleu.ca 

Asking Questions about Library Based eBooks

• Whenever possible the library purchases the required texts for a course so that it can be made available for free in your class. Please see this video tutorial concerning library based eBooks. 
• Additional questions for clarification can be sent directly to our Textbook Facilitator, Melissa Discola mdiscola@yorkvilleu.ca or our Resource Management Librarian, Sarah Van Sickle, svansickle@yorkvilleu.ca

Asking Questions by Program of Study

You can ask any librarian a question based on the program you're taking at Yorkville University, or by the specific Campus (Toronto or Vancouver). Note, there are no library services on weekends. Questions will be responded to within 48 Hours during regular business days.

• Kathy Coorsh, Academic Support Librarian 
  • kcoorsh@yorkvilleu.ca
  • BID, BBA, BCRA, APA, Ontario Campus 

• Sarah Van Sickle, Resource Management Librarian
  • svansickle@yorkvilleu.ca
  • BID, BBA, BCRA, APA, Ontario Campus

• Melissa Discola, Library Technician & Textbook Facilitator
  • mdiscola@yorkvilleu.ca
  • Textbooks, Library Content, APA, Ontario Campus

• Paul J. Graham, University Librarian
  • pgraham@yorkvilleu.ca
  • DCP, MACP, Education, BCRA, APA, Studiosity, Fredericton Offices

• Nell Beaudry, Information Literacy & Academic Support Librarian
  • nbeaudry@yorkvilleu.ca
  • DCP, MACP, Education, BBA, APA, Studiosity, BC Campus

• PLEASE NOTE... when in doubt, you can send your question to "ASK YU".  All Technical questions (e.g., you cannot access the library) should also be sent to ASK YU so our tech team can provide a response.